The Maltese archipelago is situated at the centre of the Mediterranean with Malta, Gozo and Comino being the largest of these islands. Malta and Gozo feature a rich array of cultural and historical attractions, thanks to the various colonies that left their influence over the years.

The Maltese islands were colonized by the Carthaginians, Romans, Arabs, Normans, The Knights of St. John, the French and the British. Malta gained independence from the British colony in 1964 and became a Republic in 1974. In 2004, Malta became an EU Member State. Malta has adopted the Euro as its currency and is a signatory to the Schengen Area.

The 2011 index of International Living magazine ranked Malta’s climate as third best out of 192 countries worldwide. In 2014, Forbes listed Malta among the top 15 countries to retire to, particularly for Americans. The survey comes hot on the heels of another survey, the 2013 edition of the World Risk Report, which placed Malta as the second safest country.

Maltese is the national language locally whilst English is an official language; Italian and French are also widely spoken. As at 2011 the population stood at 416,055.