Located in the Southern Africa sub-region, Zambia is a landlocked country covering an area of 752 614 sq km of which 11 890 sq km is covered by water. The country is bordered by Tanzania (in the north), Malawi (in the east), Mozambique (in the south-east), Zimbabwe (in the south), Botswana and Namibia (in the South West), Angola (in the west) and the Democratic Republic of Congo (in the north-west).

According to the Central Statistical Office, the population of Zambia as captured during the 2010 Census of Population and Housing was 13 092 666.